The School District of Lee County

Curriculum Advisory Committee September 19, 2016 6:00 p.m. – Training Room D Meeting Minutes

Mission Statement:

To advise the School Board by recommending approaches to obtaining improved student achievement for all students through a coherent, rigorous academic course of study that provides the tools necessary to succeed in today's society. Emphasis will be placed on the dynamic development of a K-12 curriculum within a safe environment leading to both career and technical majors, the methods of instruction used to implement it, and the assessments of its effectiveness, together with a complementary professional development program to support it.

Committee Members Present: Melissa Knablin-Liebal, Thomas Busatta, Evelyn Murphy, Elizabeth Blundo, Shannon McCutchen, Suzi Simone, April Ketron, Stephen Whitener, Joseph Camputaro,

Committee Members Absent: Dr. Kelly Lavis (excused) Patricia Givens (excused) Sandra Wright (excused) Hilda Lewin (excused) John Steakley (unexcused) Deirdre Sullivan Mann (unexcused) Sandra Mercado (excused)

School Board Liaison Present: Pam LaRiviere

Staff Members Present: Brandy Macchia and Melissa Robery

Recording Secretary: Jamie Fowler

Guest: Alice Weatherford

Welcome and Introduction of Members

The meeting was called to order by Pam LaRiviere at 6:00pm welcoming all committee members and guests. Committee Members went around and introduced themselves.

Review of Mission Statement and Purpose of Committee

Pam LaRiviere reviewed the mission statement and reminded everyone of the purpose of the committee.

Reading and Approval of May 16, 2016 minutes

There was a motion to approve the minutes as presented by Stephen Whitener, seconded by April Ketron and all voted to approve.

Board Member Report

A service for Patti Lochner will be held Saturday October 1st at 11:00am at the Covenant Presbyterian Church on McGregor Blvd.

A commemorative video was created by the Florida Education Association for Patti Lochner and can be viewed at: http://www.islandcoastfea.org/talc

The School District of Lee County

Curriculum Advisory Committee September 19, 2016 6:00 p.m. – Training Room D Meeting Minutes

Construction on a new south zone school will begin this year. Discussions and decisions regarding a location for a new east zone school will begin in 2016-2017 school year. The school district is looking at land on Joel and Tacho.

The legislative Platform was voted on and approved. Pam will bring a copy to share at the next meeting.

Pam LaRiviere along with the other board members work with the Greater Florida Consortium Public Schools. Some of the counties involved are Manatee, Sarasota, and Palm Beach. These counties including ours provide 65% of funding for the State, have the highest population of students and we receive 85% back on property taxes to fund other counties.

The areas that Pam LaRiviere believes our Legislators need to help are capital funding going towards Charter Schools and vouchers that students receive to go to Private schools when they are not always being accountable for student's needs.

Elections

Thomas Busatta nominated April Ketron for Chairperson, Elizabeth Blundo seconded.

April Ketron nominated Joseph Camputaro, Elizabeth Blundo seconded.

April Ketron nominated Stephen Whitener as Chairperson, Suzi Simone seconded.

Committee members completed a secret ballot in order to make a decision. It was decided that the person with the most votes would be Chair and the person receiving the second most votes would be Vice Chair. April Ketron and Stephen Whitener both received 4 votes, Joseph Camputaro received 1 vote.

Stephen Whitener volunteered to be Vice Chair making April Ketron Chair.

Public Comment Guidelines

The Committee discussed if the Public comment portion of the meeting should be made at the beginning of the meeting or at the end and how much time the public would have to speak.

A motion to hold public comment at the end of the meeting was made by Joseph Camputaro, seconded by Elizabeth Blundo and all voted to approve.

A motion was made for public comment to be limited to 5 minutes each by Shannon McCutchen seconded by Thomas Busatta and all voted to approve.

A motion was made that public speaking does not have to follow items specific to the agenda made by Shannon McCutchen, seconded by Stephen Whitener.

The School District of Lee County

Curriculum Advisory Committee September 19, 2016 6:00 p.m. – Training Room D Meeting Minutes

A motion was made to add a section to the guest sign in sheet that asks if guests are attending as a visitor or if they have a topic to address in the public comment portion of the agenda made by Melissa Knablin-Liebal, seconded by Elizabeth Blundo all voted and approved.

Public Comment

Alice Weatherford has lived in the county since the 1960s. She has had children and now grandchildren within the school district. She is attending this evenings meeting to see how the committee works and to see if she would like to participate in the future.

Selection of Topics for Future Committee Meetings

The Committee discussed future topics they would like to be presented at meetings for 2016-2017.

A motion for the following topics to be presented at future meetings was made by Elizabeth Blundo, seconded by Joseph Camputaro:

- 1. Castle
- 2. Process for Implementation
- 3. Career Education Program/Vocational Skill Programs (Internships)
- 4. Marc Mora present school development process
- 5. Chromebook/Curriculum
- 6. ESE/Special Needs Curriculum PreK-12
- 7. Graduation/ELL Students
- 8. MTSS Intervention

Future Meeting Dates

The Committee discussed future meeting dates.

A motion was made to approve the following dates for 2016-2017 by Melissa Knablin-Liebal, seconded by Stephen Whitener all voted and approved.

October 24, 2016 January 23, 2017 March 20, 2017 May 15, 2017

November 21, 2016 February 27, 2016 April 24, 2017

Good of the Order

September 21, 2016 the Parent Education Forum will be taking place at the District office in the Board Room at 6:00pm. It will include workshops with Student Assignment, Lee County Standards of Excellence, ESE, Communication, and Safety Security Supervision.

Motion to end the meeting at 7:23 made by Melissa Knablin-Liebal seconded by Stephen Whitener and all voted to adjourn.